Posted by: Armand | January 8, 2011

Sunset vs sunrise running

sunset on my run homeMost of my running training last year was done before work – 6ish am runs along the canal path for 30 mins to an hour depending on how early I needed to be in and how vigorous I was feeling.

I found the running on empty, early morning runs purifying in a strange sort of way – serene, calm, contemplative and, well, from a practical point of view, not-resulting-in-unexpected-upset-tummy along the way, caused by random combinations of foodstuffs rebelling against the exertion.

But with Emily around, and the commute, the early morning runs are not so much an option so didn’t make it out today till 3ish – and again on Amanda’s egging on, had decided to make it a 10k so, at my pace, running through sunset. To my surprise, I improved on my pace from recent 5ks and really quite enjoyed the late afternoon run.

I’m not sure what the received wisdom is and mostly intend to avoid the risk of an unsettled stomach on a run, but I won’t write off afternoon running as I have done in future….

2011 running to date – 20km. Not too bad. Hoping to get out again tomorrow but we’re also taking Emily swimming so time might be somewhat short… still, v exciting way to spend her 3 month birthday!

Responses

  1. I have been walking before sunrise for more than 2 years and now that I am running the morning routine continues. I find that early morning has advantages of fewer cars on the road, energizes me for the day, and allows me to think/plan my activities. I wake around 4am and have breakfast by 4:30. I run after 5am allowing time for digestion. Also note….with our children grown and gone I have the luxury of a wide open schedule.

  2. The morning/ evening differences also get me thinking from time to time.

    I always feel that I’m running better in the evenings (this can be 9 or 10 pm for me and that’s not too many cars around then) although a few years ago a timed the same course in the am and at another time in the pm. Surprisingly am was quicker!

    One of my thoughts is that am is better for marathon training as I’d be doing this on empty and would get into the fat-burning territory much earlier. There’s no scientific evidence to support this that I’m aware of. Also marahons tend to start a little in the day than other events, so another of my theories is that by am running you’re training your body to be geared up for exercise at this time of day.

    Having said all that – I’m just not a morning person so for now I’ll carry on exercising in the evening!


Leave a Reply

Categories

