Posted by: jamescoyle | June 21, 2010

5km race – Self Transcendence 5K

I have finally found a 5km race that fits in with my training schedule  – the Self Transcendence 5K in Battersea Park next Monday evening.

I wanted to find a couple of short races (5 and 10k) to help sharpen race pace and set some new PBs. Training is going pretty well and I have done a fair bit of speed work so aiming for a decent time. As I don’t have an official 5km PB – so I need to set a target. Training suggests that I am on schedule for a 42 min 10km (2 mins faster than current official personal best) – so for 5km, on a pretty flat course, I am going to set a target of sub-20.  Ideally, I want below 19.30 – but that will probably be dependent on weather conditions on the day.

I will, of course, let you know how I get on.

I was away in Leeds this weekend, but managed to fit in a cycle on Saturday and a run yesterday. Tonight is the longer Clapham Common Chasers run (8km) and for the rest of the week, I have the usual swim, bike, run and core sessions planned.  I also want to spend some decent time on the bike on Saturday – might even consider a ride down into the Surrey countryside.

Leave a Reply

Categories

