Posted by: jamescoyle | May 7, 2010

Time to start training again

It has been two full weeks since the London Marathon (which I am going to write a detailed post about this weekend)  but that means it is time to get back into training again, which ties in quite nicely with the launch of this blog.

For the VLM I followed a strict training 16 week programme – I had a target time in mind (3.45) and a plan that said it would get me there. The people that wrote it know a lot more about running marathons than I do, so I stuck to it religiously. I occasionally swapped days around to fit in with work commitments (or the odd party!) but I covered pretty much every session. (Missed 3 out of 80)

There were plenty of times I thought it must be wrong, they must mean to go faster, surely this is too slow, they can’t mean go for a run tonight. But I just had to keep telling myself to TRUST THE PLAN, always trust the plan. This is especially difficult during the taper weeks.  (I think this is something that deserves a more detailed post – but a running friend I met on Twitter, Joe, writes about it brilliantly here.)

The point that I am trying to make here is that this weekend I am going to start running with no plan at all in mind – I am going to head out and see how it goes. I don’t know how far or how fast I will go. I don’t know if my route will take in hills or if it will involve any fast intervals.  I am just going to run and see how much fun it is. I am looking forward to it – will let you know how it goes.

Responses

  1. Good for you James! I went for a “naked” run today just 5 days after Pittsburgh. No GPS, No IPOD – just me and my shoes.

    I ran as fast as I “felt like it” – and it was completely liberating. I am going to make a point to do this at least one run per week going forward.

    Just run like a kid and enjoy it.

    Can’t wait to hear about London! Best to you James from Austin, Joe


Leave a Reply

Categories

